Marketing Myself as a Web Developer

Before I become a famous web developer, I have decided to pre-market myself to show off my skills to the world and make myself more credible! I learned in my Web Development training class online that as a junior web developer, I need to be marketing myself NOW, so that once I have all the skills and training I need, I will already have shared my skills, code, website examples, and knowledge with everyone and will be a reputable, professional web developer!

Here’s what I’ve done so far:

  • I created a twitter account called @webnerdcorri to show off my web development skills, check it out here:  https://twitter.com/webnerdcorriScreen Shot 2014-09-18 at 11.08.51 PM
  • I updated my LinkedIn profile to say that I’m training to be a web developer, see it here: https://www.linkedin.com/in/corrithomasScreen Shot 2014-09-18 at 11.09.13 PM
  • I updated my signature on Gmail telling people to contact me if they need a website built, looks like this:Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 11.10.09 PM
  • I created a Buffer account at bufferapp.com to post an automatic Tweet for me each day until next week, just in case if I can’t remember to post a new Tweet each day.
  • I registered and indexed my blog Femiology with Google (I couldn’t add this website because it’s a free site owned by WordPress but I’ll do that once I get my own .com domain name figured out) so people will see it whenever they do a search on Google!Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 12.57.25 AM
  • I updated this entire WordPress website to reflect my web development skills!
  • After all that, I went back to Femiology.com and added an advertisement video to my most-viewed post for people to see (this post has been getting 10k-25k views per day lately), and since I get paid per view on it, I am hoping that placing my ad there will increase my ad revenue from Knowlera Widgets (my lifestyle blog’s current ad company) by 400% in the next 24-48 hours, because it’s set to autoplay. You can see the video play here: http://femiology.com/13-make-ahead-and-freeze-casseroles-and-grocery-list/

I also hope to change my Facebook profile to acknowledge my web development skills also, as well as any other social media platforms I am currently connected to. By adding my aspirations to each of my networks, I am expecting to share my skills as a web developer with my friends, family members, and associates, as well as future employers, which will boost my credibility and exposure as a future professional!

Leave a Reply

